nanaxask.blogg.se

Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue
Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue







tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue
  1. Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue skin#
  2. Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue registration#
tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue

GORGE: stick together a try or attempt and a verb to storm and delete the first letter of ‘anything’.ġ1a Attractive Royal appearing after cheers (6) POWER STATION: a semi-all-in-one clue where the answer is an anagram (wrongly seen as) of POOR IN WATTS containing the abbreviation for energy.ĩa An old word, failing to capture a disorder (9)ĪNARCHISM: start with AN and a term for an old word and remove an A.ġ0a Try anything, initially, to escape storm in valley (5) Please leave a comment telling us how you fared and what you thought of the puzzle.ġa This would be wrongly seen as poor in watts, without energy (5,7) A lot of the clues did seem rather ‘samey’ and 17 out of the 30 clues require us to insert or delete a single letter. I made harder work of this than I should have (which I put down to watching the Olympics at the same time as solving). You can sign up as an individual or a team and solve at several different skill levels.Toughie No 2687 by Kcit Hints and tips by GazzaīD Rating – Difficulty *** – Enjoyment **/*** 25 in beautiful Ithaca, and you can also participate remotely: Check online for details, including a variety of interesting guest stars and prizes.

tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue

Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue registration#

Registration for the Ninth Annual Finger Lakes Crossword and “Honor” Competition has begun all proceeds support adult literacy in Tompkins County, N.Y. I’m really happy with how everything turned out, and I’m into the house clues as well as some of our originals that made the cut (I love cluing short/common stuff in fun ways here I love that the editors kept our 46A and 49A). I would be so terrified to do this now, but I didn’t know enough a year or so ago to be terrified, and Brian just rolled with it because he’s off-the-charts talented. I’m also amused by the multiple Boston clue additions coupled with us putting BOSTON POPS in our last collab - I’ve never even been to Boston!īrooke: This was one of my first themeless collabs where I had the first shift! I clearly did not know what I was getting into by making this massive 8/8/9/8/8 stairstack intersecting a vertical 9/15/9. Shout-out to the editing team for their clues on 52-Across and 22-Down. She built such a fun grid layout around the JAZZ AMBASSADORS seed! The middle stretch from CLARIONS to MENU PAGE is nice and open with lots of fun downs crashing through, and the corner stacks are separated just the right amount so we could cram more fun 7s in there.

Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue skin#

I still miss the physical button on the phone, though).Ģ5D: This is hard name trivia and a debut, but also a really fun summer reference - anyone out there swimming in nature, this JULIE ADAMS clip is going to make your skin crawl a little! Constructor Notesīrian: It’s always such a joy to work with Brooke through the entire process, from seed selection through rounding off those final few clues. I was so happy to figure out MENU PAGE, a location on any app or website where a prominent “Home” button should appear (in my opinion, it would be nice to be able to “go home” from anywhere on a given site, something that we seem to be moving away from in some updates. That’s how “Devil AMONG the Tailors” got its name, a miniature game of skittles played on the bar.Ģ8A: This entry drove me to distraction more than any of the other quirks in this grid. That shot in the dark gave me ONO and reminded me of the PRU, which led to TOP THAT.ġ3A: Everyone knows about that infamous 1783 British play that so grievously offended the tailor community that it rioted, right? The tailors were so irate that the Dragoons were summoned, and swept through the crowd with the intensity of balls mowing down pins in skittles. My impulse for “Cans” was a reference to firing/axing/“letting someone go,” and couldn’t find anything that fit my impulse for “Salon stock” was “rinses.” The one mental step that got me going was thinking that the entry for “Cans” might well be plural, which would put a double SS in the “Salon stock” entry: MOUSSE. All were blanks, as well as the offbeat entries at 25- and 28-Across, so I had one little bit of fill, PTAS, going through a fairly large sea of blank boxes, and was otherwise intimidated. I was at an impasse in the northeast corner of this puzzle - I don’t know who the soccer player “_ Howard” is, or who founded “Artists Against Fracking,” or 10-, 11- and 12-Down. Brian Thomas and Brooke Husic collaborated on another hard Saturday puzzle back in June these are great puzzles for aficionados, because they pose challenge after challenge, but even if you feel trepidation about Saturdays you will find that a little risk-taking will push you over the top, a very satisfying feeling. SATURDAY PUZZLE - Wow! The top half of this grid is a tough nut to crack, which makes the “belt” at 32-Across exceptionally wry.









Tough nut to crack crossword puzzle clue